//
you're reading...
recipe, yes please

Recipe: Browned Butter Bourbon Chocolate Chip Cookies

I discovered this recipe over at Vanilla Bean Blog back in May. To date, I am still (somehow?!) the only comment:

Seriously. Two of the greatest things in the world now in blissful union. I don’t know if no one else has seen this or what, but these cookies need to be made. Actually, I’m glad no one else has seen as I clearly missed a word in there. I must have be delirious from the thought of making these.

Well, I finally have. Twice in two days. Okay, that’s an exaggeration. Only twice in three days. There’s a reason Cookie Monster was my favorite Sesame Street character growing up.

(instagram fakeout picplz “Russian Toy Camera” filter)

I’m happy to pretend that last photo is a blue and white French mani instead of me having picked at my nail polish all day if you’ll humor me. Anyway, these thick, moist, chewy cookies is why we’re all here.

Browned Butter Bourbon Chocolate Chip Cookies (slightly adapted from Vanilla Bean Blog)

  • 1-3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 14 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon bourbon
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

Whisk flour and baking soda together in medium bowl; set aside.

Heat 10 tablespoons butter in a skillet over medium-high heat until melted, about 2 minutes. Continue cooking, swirling pan constantly until butter is dark golden brown and has nutty aroma, 1 to 3 minutes. Remove skillet from heat and, using heatproof spatula, transfer browned butter to large heatproof bowl. Stir remaining 4 tablespoons butter into hot butter until completely melted.

Add both sugars, salt, bourbon and vanilla to bowl with butter and whisk until fully incorporated. Add egg and yolk and whisk until mixture is smooth with no sugar lumps remaining, about 30 seconds. Let mixture stand 3 minutes, then whisk for 30 seconds. Repeat process of resting and whisking 2 more times until mixture is thick, smooth, and shiny. Using rubber spatula, stir in flour mixture until just combined, about 1 minute. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts [if using], giving dough final stir to ensure no flour pockets remain.

Divide dough into 16 portions, each about 3 tablespoons. Arrange 2 inches apart on greased baking sheets, 8 dough balls per sheet.

Bake cookies 1 tray at a time until cookies are golden brown and still puffy, and edges have begun to set but centers are still soft, 10 to 14 minutes, rotating baking sheet halfway through baking. Closer to 14 minutes worked better for me, but it depends on your oven, altitude, yadda, yadda. I initially set a timer for 11 minutes and saw they still needed a few more, so I eyeballed it from there.

Transfer baking sheet to wire rack; cool cookies completely before serving.

Devour with family, friends and/or roommates. You won’t want to, but you should. This was my first time browning butter and while it started to get white and foamy, it turned out okay. The flavor in the cookie is great, although the bourbon flavor didn’t really come through. Next time I’d add more bourbon and less vanilla and maybe do two egg yolks instead of a whole egg so I can squeeze just a little more bourbon in there. Is that not a good idea? I’m not very baking savvy.

My boyfriend, parents and roommates loved them. Today, I will be taking the batch I made last night to a picnic with my two best lady friends. Pool party picnics are the best! Happy weekending! xoxo

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

