//
you're reading...
food, recipe

“Meat-esque and Tasty” Black Bean Burgers

Every once in a while I flirt with the idea of cutting meat out of my life. It’s healthier, cheaper, cleaner, yadda, yadda. I read a lot of veggie food blogs and all of the recipes look amazing. I usually just utilize what’s in my kitchen (regular milk instead of almond, actual eggs instead of flax eggs, butter in place of coconut butter) and everything is A-OK. Today for lunch I decided to actually (mostly) follow a veg recipe as is: Boyfriend-Approved Spicy Black Bean Burgers. And dang these were good!

Much better tasting than they look in a quick phone pic. Full of all good for you veg and zero animal product. As I was finishing up cooking these big guys, my boyfriend says, “Something smells good!” I told him it was the totally meatless black bean burgers I just made. He’s a meat lover so he was skeptical at first, but after a bite of mine, he had two of his own. Definitely boyfriend-approved.

The last time I tried to make something and document it to post up here, it was a total fail. So today when I didn’t take the camera into the kitchen, everything was awesome. Go figure.

“Meat-esque and Tasty” Black Bean Burgers
Yields 5 large burgers

  • 1 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tsp water mixed up)
  • 2 tsp garlic, minced (I bought mine pre-minced in a jar)
  • 2 tbsp tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1-1/2 cup corn (I used fresh ears I cut the kernels off of, frozen and thawed would work, too)
  • 1/2 cup red onion, diced
  • 1 cup shredded carrots (bought mine pre-shredded)
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
  • olive oil (for frying burgers)

Add black beans and garlic to blender (food processor if you have one! I do not) and pulse to combine. If, like me, you’re food processor-less, you’ll need a spatula to scrape the sides of the blender and help it along.

Add cumin and salt and pulse until mixture resembles chunky black bean dip. Again scraping and mixing as needed with a spatula.

Transfer the mixture to a large bowl and stir in the Panko, tomato sauce, flax egg, corn, red onion, and cilantro. Stir well until everything is combined. Form black bean mixture into patties.

Heat a little olive oil in a skillet on medium high heat and fry patties for about 4 minutes on each side. The patties should be brown and crispy. Serve as desired. For my first burger, I had it on Oatnut bread with ketchup and the second one I did bun-less with some Sweet Baby Ray’s.

Mmmmm, so good! When I told boyfriend there would be more healthy, meat-free food to come, he looked excited. Baby steps.

xoxo

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

