//
you're reading...
food, recipe

Epic Cupcake Fail Remix

Yesterday I attempted to make fresh strawberry cupcakes based on a recipe by Jessica over at How Sweet It Is. Pretty much every day she has recipes that make me drool, so I figured it was about time I made something. Since it’s strawberry season, this was obviously the perfect dessert. Mine turned out to be anything but perfect.

The downfall started when I decided to use whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose. I was going for healthier and didn’t think the pastry flour would make the batter that much thinner, but apparently I have a lot to learn around the kitchen. I also chopped up and added most of the pint of strawberries without adding any additional flour so the additional juice totally thinned out the batter. Well, this is what they turned out like:

They didn’t rise and they were mushy. Gross! I was so bummed out. They still tasted awesome, but I was so disappointed. I am not one to waste perfectly take cake-like blobs, so I remixed everything. But first, the recipe from How Sweet Jess:

Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes
makes 24 mini cupcakes

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1-1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chopped strawberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Beat butter and sugar together in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy.

Add eggs and vanilla extract and mix until combined.

Add flour, baking powder and salt with the mixer on low speed, then gradually increase speed.

(But don’t use this flour!!)

Add in chopped strawberries and beat on medium speed until the strawberries break down – about 1-2 minutes.

Pour into cupcake liners, filling 2/3 of the way full, and bake for 20-25 minutes or until cake is set.

And I was so excited to get to this point, only to have the cupcakes turn out all awful. I probably also need to invest in some cupcake papers to line the pan for easier removal (I had to use a spoon to scoop these buggers out once baked). Ugh.

And now the remix part: Like I said, I didn’t want to waste the delicious little lumps of sweet, strawberry baked goodness, but I couldn’t serve them all jacked up. I threw all the ugly cupcakes into a big mixing bowl and poured in some milk, an egg and some of the frosting I’d made for the cupcakes (confectioner’s sugar, milk, vanilla, finely chopped strawberries and cream cheese all mixed up). I took an electric beater to it all and kept slowly adding milk and frosting until it became batter-like. Then instead of trying to make cupcakes again, I oiled up a ceramic pan and made a Fresh Strawberry Cake topped with the aforementioned frosting.

Much less fail. xoxo

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: “Meat-esque and Tasty” Black Bean Burgers « Some Other Betty - July 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

