//
you're reading...
exercise, food

Green Tea Blueberry Smoothie

Last night, I opened my refrigerator to find my Nature’s Promise Organic Vanilla Soymilk carton looking like it was ready to explode. I cautiously twisted the cap off only to hear the same hiss a soda can makes when you pop the tab. Then I took a cup and started to pour – EW. It had separated into an oily liquid and white chunks. No thank you! As mentioned previously, I’d been out of town for a week, so I’m guessing that’s why the soymilk spoiled.

Well, this morning when I went to make a post gym smoothie, I was totally bummed that not only I but my entire house was out of milk. I’d seen a Green Tea Smoothie recipe last week by Eat, Live, Run and decided that maybe green tea would make an OK milk substitute because doesn’t hers look delicious?!

Well, friends, it wasn’t so bad. Jenna’s recipe can be found here and is probably much better than what I threw together. My smoothie consisted of a whole banana, a couple handfuls of blueberries, a scoop of vanilla whey protein powder, 1/2 cup of green tea (made in the microwave, only 1 teabag) and about 6 ice cubes. Definitely drinkable, but not preferred. The grocery store was out of strawberries when I went last night (I know, right?!) and I wasn’t aware that I’d needed milk while I was there.

Will certainly be making a stop tonight for milk. Especially since I’m determined to get back to working out daily…last week it was impossible due to late nights and early mornings for my work trip, but ever since the Victory 5K, I’ve been more of a bum than not. Oops.

Since making it back from my business trip (on Friday), I gym’d it up Saturday (elliptical, lower body lifting, arc machine, bike), Sunday (running and bike), and today (elliptical). Tonight also starts the second series of the belly dancing class I’ve been taking with my dear friend Michelle. Yesterday at Father’s Day lunch, I told my family, “I have a belly so I might as well use it.” They loved it. And I love the belly dancing class, though not so much the belly.

I hope you’re having a very happy Monday! xoxo

(photo: Eat, Run, Live)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

