//
you're reading...
adventure, beer, food, music, yes please

Blues, Brews & BBQ in Allentown today!

Today is the 4th annual Blues, Brews and BBQ Festival in Allentown. Boyfriend has been hired to do a live painting over the course of about 5 hours. We bounced some ideas around about what would be cool to paint so I can’t wait to see where he goes with it.

I suggested (I often give my opinion on his pieces and sometimes, knowingly or not, he ends up using them) sticking with the theme of the event and doing something with music and dancing. We’d been hoping he might be able to do it similar to the way he’d done his winning Art Wars piece (below) with the different sections of Masonite all cut up and bolted together, but he didn’t have time to do the cutting.

I am stoked for the event – I love watching him work AND there’s going to be a whole slew of blues, brews and barbeque. Not only do I love all of those things, the alliteration makes me smile. Word nerd alert! There will no doubt be a ton of vendors, too. Our friend Steven will have a booth for his Muero Apparo Clothing line.

I’m headed over after running some errands (what up, Target and maybe Ross?) and following the fest, I’m FINALLY going to go see Bridemaids with my sister. SO excited because I’ve been hearing only great things! It is disappointing, though, to keep hearing, “It’s not a chick flick. It’s funny. Guys will like it, too!” It’s a shame that because the cast is predominately female and it was written by (some wildly funny) ladies, that dudes automatically dismiss it.

I’m pretty certain I’ve read it’s already grossed $100m, so hopefully this will kick Hollywood in the butt to offer better, stronger, more central roles for women in comedies.

What does your Saturday involve? xoxo

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

