//
you're reading...
fashion, inspiration

TOMS Doing What TOMS Does

I first came across TOMS at Austin City Limits in 2008 while covering the festival for my then music blog Popwreckoning.com. My Popwreckoning co-founder Josh and I were hanging out in the press area where TOMS had set up and were giving pairs of their shoes to artists playing ACL. We chatted up the TOMS rep and ended up scoring the last two pairs available.  I dirtied the hell out of the white pair I got, but I loved every second of it.

They are comfy and for a good cause (when you pay for them). For every pair of shoes sold, TOMS provides a pair of shoes to a child in need and, as of September 2010 [source], TOMS has given over 1,000,000 pairs of shoes to kids in need. My next pair:

TOMS has now expanded with an eyewear line. For every pair of their sunglasses sold, TOMS will provide either medical treatment, prescription glasses or sight-saving surgery for a person in need. At $135.00 or $145.00 a pop, they’re not the cheapest option, but H&M, Old Navy, Forever21 and the like are exploiting people worldwide so they can sell you sunglasses for less than $20.00 while TOMS is trying to help people worldwide. $135.00 isn’t exactly in my budget for sunglasses, but for now I can at least talk it up and hopefully inspire others to help out, right?

toms-glasses

I love big sunglasses, so if and when $135 finds its way into my sunglasses budget, I’m all about the middle style in Tortoise/Orange, shown here.

xoxo

Discussion

One thought on “TOMS Doing What TOMS Does

  1. I’ve been wanting to get a pair of TOMS! My friend got a cute pink glitter pair from her boyfriend for Valentine’s Day – so adorable!

    I agree, I love the tortoise shell pair. The more you pay for sunglasses, the longer they will last in my opinion. You tend to appreciate and take care of them more. In this case it would be for a good cause! I’ll have to check to see if they have other pairs. xo

    Posted by Phoebe Diane | June 11, 2011, 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

