//
you're reading...
adventure

Adventure: A Day at the Park

This past Saturday, I decided that boyfriend and I should be outdoorsy in way other than sitting on a patio or deck and drinking. There’s nothing wrong with that, but in an effort to stop adding to the waistline, I wanted to work out more than my glass raising muscle.

We headed a half hour south to Nockamixon State Park for a picnic, kayaking and disc golf! The picnic involved Subway sandwiches since neither of us has been grocery shopping in a while (oops) and craft beer (there’s always time to shop for craft beer). While we finely dined under a big tree at a wooden picnic table with some ants, we listened to Reel Big Fish because it’s fun for a sunny afternoon picnic even if it’s not 1997 anymore.

Following our little picnic, we rented a double kayak and took to the lake. Boyfriend was hesitant at first because I took him out of his comfort zone, but ended up telling me it was a really good idea.P1020716P1020719P1020724 P1020725

We kayaked for just under two hours and I definitely had blisters on my fingers. It turns out I’m a pretty serious kayaker. I’m much better at that than at disc golf, anyway.  It was fun enough, but my frisbee throwing skills are not at all skillful. It was not fun at all when we had to spend half an hour scouring the overgrown mess along the course to rescue lost discs.P1020728

The course was nice, but a little confusing at one point. Not very well laid out, but well maintained for a free public service. Great day at Nockamixon. My state taxes hard at work. 😉

xoxo

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

