//
you're reading...
adventure, beer, exercise, inspiration

Victory Brewing 5K

I just signed up. Eep!

victory5k

In high school and freshman year of college I ran track and cross country. 5Ks were my thing. In college I sustained a pretty bad injury and stopped running for a while, but have since gotten back into through gyms I’ve joined and now a beer running club I belong to.

I’m not nearly in the race shape (honestly not even in the training shape) I used to be, especially without a coach monitoring my progress, so I’m kind of terrified of what my time will be. I know I can run 3.1 miles no problem, but I need to work on actual terrain and do speed work. On a treadmill, I can do a 10 minute mile no problem, but running on the ground is so different. Especially with 599 other people running with you.

3 weeks to go…let’s see what happens. xoxo

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Victory Brewing 5K

  1. Wow, I wish I was better at running … good luck to you though! 😀

    Posted by April Starr | April 29, 2011, 6:14 pm
    • The only advice I can give is to just start running [more]! It is scary at first but it feels great when you can prove to yourself that you can do it.

      Recently I was nervous to run a 10 min pace for even just a couple minutes but pushed myself and I felt really great afterward. Even more recently, I’ve been reading other blogs where a lot of runners are doing high interval training which I was nervous to try, so I started slow, but now I feel really good that for a whole minute I can keep an 8:30 pace.

      In the beginning, it’ll be slow and it’ll hurt but if you think it’s something you could grow to enjoy, you just need to take that first step. 🙂

      Posted by someotherbetty | April 29, 2011, 9:22 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Green Tea Blueberry Smoothie « Some Other Betty - June 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

