//
you're reading...
adventure, beer, food

Barley Creek Brewing Co Verdict

image

Yesterday’s trip to Barley Creek Brewing Co was, in part, sponsored by Groupon. It was a 40 mile hike to the Poconos and while I enjoyed myself, the beer wasn’t anything to return for.

I started off with the Angler Black Lager which was smooth but too thin, the same with the Antler Brown Ale.

With lunch – a chicken cheesesteak with mushrooms and onions on a long garlic roll (yum! – pictured) – I enjoyed an Old 99 barleywine. The Old 99 was bold, boozy, sweet and malty. Certainly the best beer of the afternoon.

With a belly full of beer and delicious food, we moved over to the bar for one last beer: I chose the Iron Arm Belgian Wheat. It was initially spicy but lost flavor quickly and was, again, a very thin beer.

I certainly won’t go out of my way to go back, but if I happened to be in the area, I might stop in. I’d also suggest it as a stop off for anyone already in the Pocs or traveling through.

xoxo

PS – this post was done on my phone so I apologize for any weird or awful formatting, I can’t do anything about that for a while…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

