//
you're reading...
food

Mini Spinach Artichoke Bread Bowls

This delicious treat won over an entire book club. I’m shocked that I haven’t made them since. I jocked the recipe from a food blogger but since I copy and paste recipes into a Google Word Doc, I can’t for the life of me recall who I took it from. If you know, let me know so I can properly credit. Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve also been keeping track of who to credit for recipes. Whomever came up with this deliciousness deserves a medal, in addition to credit once I figure out who it is.

Baked Spinach Dip Mini Bread Bowls
Yield 2 dozen bowls

1 roll of refrigerated french bread loaf (or croissant dough is probably awesome, too)
2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced (or get the minced garlic already in oil like I did)
3 Cups baby spinach (1 bag), coarsely chopped
5 oz softened cream cheese
3/4 Cup light sour cream
2/3 Cup fresh shredded Parmesan cheese, divided
4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled (my addition!)
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp garlic power
1/8 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper

  • Preheat oven to 350 F.
  • Spray muffin cups with non stick cooking spray.  Unroll package of bread and slice into 12 equal size slices, about 1 inch thick.  Press each slice flat and press into the bottom and up sides of the muffin cup. Set aside.
  • Heat oil and garlic in medium skillet over medium heat.  Cook and stir spinach until wilted.
  • Place cream cheese, sour cream, cooked spinach and garlic, Parmesan Cheese, bacon, chili powder, garlic, salt and pepper into a medium bowl.  Mix until well combined.
  • With a medium cookie scoop (or just a teaspoon), scoop dip into each of the centers of bread bowls.
  • Top evenly with shredded cheese and bake for about 15 minutes until just turning brown on edges.
  • Remove and let cool for 3-5 minutes before removing from oven.
  • Devour.

What I learned from this recipe – use less bread. While these were so delicious my mom went home and made them a couple days later for a baby shower, she cut back on the bread and was able to get more filling in each bread bowl. I, on the other hand, had a ton of dip left over so I just cooked that and later enjoyed with some Utz Organic White Tortillas chips – totally my fave corn chip and only in the organic aisle of my local Giant next to the Pirate’s Booty and Stacy’s pitas instead of mixing with the bad crowd of the regular Utz chips.

So, once again, if you know who this belongs to, please let me know because I want to give them credit for my new fave hors d’oeuvres!

xoxo

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

